Grab my button!

MamaKitty Reviews

Subscribe by Email

Reading Until Dawn

Review requests currently closed

Our review request pile is currently closer to a mountain, and we're kind of afraid it's going to fall on our heads and bury us all in a massive book avalanche. Until we can get through the majority of the TBR list we have right now, we at MKR are currently unable to accept any new review requests. But please keep us in mind in the future!

Now booking blog tours

Are you in search of the next stop for your blog tour? Look no further! MKR is currently booking spots for spotlights, author interviews, excerpts, guest posts, Music Monday, and Feel Good Friday. If you are interested in booking a spot here on MKR, please contact MamaKitty or MamaJo. **we are currently unable to accept review requests for blog tour stops**

Interview with Brooklyn Ann, author of One Bite Per Night

One Bite Per Night

By Brooklyn Ann

  • Soucebooks Casablanca
  • Paranormal Historical Romance
  • August 5, 2014
  • ISBN: 9781492604914
  • $6.99/£4.99
  • Mass-Market Paperback

 

He wanted her off his hands…

Vincent Tremayne, the reclusive “Devil Earl,” has been manipulated into taking rambunctious Lydia Price as his ward. As Lord Vampire of Cornwall, Vincent has better things to do than bring out an unruly debutante.

Now he’ll do anything to hold on forever

American-born Lydia Price doesn’t care for the stuffy strictures of the ton, and is unimpressed with her foppish suitors. She dreams of studying with the talented but scandalous British portrait painter, Sir Thomas Lawrence. But just when it seems her dreams will come true, Lydia is plunged into Vincent’s dark world and finds herself caught between the life she’s known and a future she never could have imagined.

Buy: Amazon | Apple | B&N | BAM | IndieBound | Indigo

 

  1.     Tell us a little about yourself.

I have a wonderful son who’s turning *gasp* 13 this year and a not-very-bright, but affectionate black cat. I used to be a mechanic and still work on cars. I’m currently restoring my first car, a 1980 Datsun 210. I rebuilt the engine and replaced the fuel system and suspension and now I’m fixing the body and getting ready to replace the wiring harness.

I love heavy metal music and cooking, and of course, books!

I write historical paranormal romance, urban fantasy and rock star romances.

 

2.      Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released?

 

I go to my little local hole-in-the-wall pub.  The place is predominantly older blue-collar men who I befriended when I worked construction and then worked as a mechanic. They encouraged me when I got my automotive degree and flat out cheered when I got my first book deal. So whenever I have a book release, I have an after party at Gus’s Pub after my signing.

 

3.      Is music a factor for you while you are writing? Do certain songs put you in the right frame of mind to write certain stories?

 

Oh yes, in fact, I played NINE INCH NAILS’s “Something I can Never Have” on a loop during certain scenes and then wrote through streaming tears.

 

4.      If you could collaborate with one author who would it be?

 

I’d love to collaborate with Jess Haines. We have a lot of the same tastes in genres and sense of humor and snark. I think we could create some badassery together.

 

5.      What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

 

As stated in the acknowledgements for ONE BITE PER NIGHT, the original inspiration came from meeting a guy with really cool looking hair.

 

6.      If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would they tell?

 

That all of my books are linked together in one way or another, kinda like Stephen King does with The Dark Tower, but not quite as awesome.

 

7.      Other than writing, what are some of your passions in life?

 

Aside from my son, I also love to draw, paint, work on cars, cook, sing, and play darts.

 

8.      What books are currently on your nightstand?

 

Kissing with Fangs by Ashlynn Chase, Blackthorne’s Bride by Shana Galen, and Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King.

 

9.      Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

 

I do, unfortunately. Even worse, I haven’t found a tried and true method of getting rid of it. I’ve done various things to summon the muse, like listen to music, read, watch movies, stare into space, or work on another project. Sometimes I even write out the things I’m stuck on in a Q&A format, or I talk it out with a friend.

10.   What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever done in the name of research?

When I was working on a contemporary romance in which the heroine becomes a roadie for her favorite metal band, I offered to help bar bands load their gear after the show. Some of them thought it was strange, others were impressed that I cared that much about accuracy. All were grateful for the help. Bar bands usually have to be their own roadies.

 

THIS OR THAT

1. Peanut butter or jelly?

Jelly!

2.      Chips or cookies?

Chips! 

3.      Bacon or sausage?

Bacon! 

4.      Print or eBook?

Print! 

5. Pen or pencil?

Depends. Pen for writing and Pencil for Drawing.

6. Print or cursive?

A strange, sloppy, but legible hybrid.

7.      Notebook or computer?

Both! 

8.      Kleenex or handkerchief?

Kleenex! 

9.      Zombies or vampires?

Vampires! 

10.    Angel or Spike?

Spike! 

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

A lover of witty Regencies and dark paranormal romance, Brooklyn Ann combines the two in her new vampire series. The former mechanic turned author lives with her family in Coeur d’ Alene, Idaho. She can be found online at http://brooklynann.blogspot.com

Website: http://brooklynann.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/brooklyn.ann.7

Twitter: @Brooklyn__Ann https://twitter.com/Brooklyn__Ann

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6506571.Brooklyn_Ann

 

 

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Dark Fates Anthology Exclusive Excerpt of A Hunted Heart A Redwood Pack Novel, Book 7.7 by Carrie Ann Ryan

Hello! Yesterday, we showed you the Dark Fates Anthology so today, we have an excerpt of Carrie Ann Ryan’s story in the Anthology, A Hunted Heart (This is book 7.7 in the Redwood Pack).

She shut her eyes, her chest lifting as she took a deep breath. She opened her eyes again and the lost look that was always there broke him just that much more. “I’m sorry. Thank you for the flowers. They’re beautiful.” Her gaze drifted to the wilting wildflowers, and Noah held back a wince.

She probably had received dozens of flowers from her late mate and countless others in her lifetime. Beautiful buds that made his dingy sprouts pale in comparison. He hadn’t thought to bring her any when he’d set out to her place that afternoon. No, he’d seen them on the hillside and thought of her smile.

He didn’t tell her any of that though. As it was, he was sure he scared her enough with just his presence. He still wasn’t sure how to fix that, but he’d find a way.

As he studied her face, wanting to memorize every contour for when she sent him on his away again, he saw what he’d missed before. The dark shadows under her eyes had grown more pronounced since the last time he’d seen her, as had the paleness of her face.

Dark Fates: An All New Paranormal Romance Boxed Set

Six brand new, hot paranormal romance stories from USA Today and bestselling authors. Alpha heroes and heroines with dark pasts and the need to find their own happy ever after will draw you in and make you turn to the next page.

THE HUNTED HEART by USA Today Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan

Emeline might have been alive hundreds of years, but she’s never really lived. Noah has known Emeline was his mate since he first saw her, only he doesn’t know if she feels the same. When he finally takes that final step, he’ll have to pray she finds the connection and overcomes the past she thought she’d lost years ago.

JACKAL’S MEASURE by USA Today Bestselling Author Marie Harte

Tortured by the god of chaos for centuries, Tariq knows only duty to numb the pain. When he’s sent to collect Eden, a sexy human accused of interfering in the Games of the Gods, his missing heart beats again. But love may not be enough to save them.

ALPHA’S SACRIFICE by Rebecca Royce

Hayden Chaucer is determined to make the best life possible for his pack and is ill-prepared to discover his true mate waiting for him in his home. Worse, his mate, Chelsea, has fled the True Believers, and her ability to see the future may cost them their present.

TOUCH OF DESIRE by Lia Davis

A submissive wolf who lost it all finds herself in a mating dance with the very dominant senior enforcer who will stop at nothing to claim her.

SANGUE FEVER by Ann Mayburn

Drifting without a purpose, vampire Lisabetta finds herself yearning for something more. She finds it while hunting for her next donor. Things are not quite as they seem when she seduces an older mortal man and finds herself in danger of falling in love for the first time in centuries.

FORBIDDEN RESCUE by Heather Long

All Jubilee Spector wants is to save her brother. The last thing she expects is to stumble into a dark world and another’s war. But Fox Arada is so much more than a man, and her secret threatens to change the Watchers’ world forever.

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ymjk94
B&N: http://bit.ly/1rheBCV
ARe: http://bit.ly/1AIVIiT
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1kJhR6r
ITunes: http://bit.ly/1t4cWVv

 

USA Today Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan never thought she’d be a writer. Not really. No, she loved math and science and even went on to graduate school in chemistry. Yes, she read as a kid and devoured teen fiction and Harry Potter, but it wasn’t until someone handed her a romance book in her late teens that she realized that there was something out there just for her. When another author suggested she use the voices in her head for good and not evil, The Redwood Pack and all her other stories were born.

Carrie Ann is a bestselling author of over twenty novels and novellas and has so much more on her mind (and on her spreadsheets *grins*) that she isn’t planning on giving up her dream anytime soon.

Get in touch with Carrie Ann Ryan!

Website: http://carrieannryan.com/

Blog: http://carrieannryan.com/blog/

Facebook, Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/CarrieAnnRyanAuthor

Facebook, Friend: https://www.facebook.com/carrieannryanwrites

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarrieAnnRyan

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5360266.Carrie_Ann_Ryan

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/carrieannryan/

Newsletter: http://carrieannryan.us4.list-manage1.com/subscribe?u=4fd27cc0d4abd9691ecaa236e&id=de39f7f897

Email: http://carrieannryan.com/contact-me/

Don’t forget about the tour wide giveaway! Hit as many tour stops as you can to enter :D

a Rafflecopter giveaway

MamaJo

MamaJo is a working wife and mother of two that is rarely seen without a book in her hand. She started reading horror novels in elementary school and from there has read some of everything. Her favorite genres are horror, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, suspense, and romantic suspense. You will also catch her with a contemporary or historical romance at least once a month to "cleanse her reading palate".

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest

Blog Tour: Dark Fates Anthology includes: A Hunted Heart A Redwood Pack Novel, Book 7.7 by Carrie Ann Ryan) + Giveaway

*Rubs hands together* Look at what we have here!!! Introducing DARK FATES A Paranormal Anthology.  I bet you want to know what it’s all about.

Dark Fates: An All New Paranormal Romance Boxed Set

Six brand new, hot paranormal romance stories from USA Today and bestselling authors. Alpha heroes and heroines with dark pasts and the need to find their own happy ever after will draw you in and make you turn to the next page.

THE HUNTED HEART by USA Today Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan

Emeline might have been alive hundreds of years, but she’s never really lived. Noah has known Emeline was his mate since he first saw her, only he doesn’t know if she feels the same. When he finally takes that final step, he’ll have to pray she finds the connection and overcomes the past she thought she’d lost years ago.

JACKAL’S MEASURE by USA Today Bestselling Author Marie Harte

Tortured by the god of chaos for centuries, Tariq knows only duty to numb the pain. When he’s sent to collect Eden, a sexy human accused of interfering in the Games of the Gods, his missing heart beats again. But love may not be enough to save them.

ALPHA’S SACRIFICE by Rebecca Royce

Hayden Chaucer is determined to make the best life possible for his pack and is ill-prepared to discover his true mate waiting for him in his home. Worse, his mate, Chelsea, has fled the True Believers, and her ability to see the future may cost them their present.

TOUCH OF DESIRE by Lia Davis

A submissive wolf who lost it all finds herself in a mating dance with the very dominant senior enforcer who will stop at nothing to claim her.

SANGUE FEVER by Ann Mayburn

Drifting without a purpose, vampire Lisabetta finds herself yearning for something more. She finds it while hunting for her next donor. Things are not quite as they seem when she seduces an older mortal man and finds herself in danger of falling in love for the first time in centuries.

FORBIDDEN RESCUE by Heather Long

All Jubilee Spector wants is to save her brother. The last thing she expects is to stumble into a dark world and another’s war. But Fox Arada is so much more than a man, and her secret threatens to change the Watchers’ world forever.

Sounds wonderful doesn’t it?  Where can you get it? All of these places:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ymjk94
B&N: http://bit.ly/1rheBCV
ARe: http://bit.ly/1AIVIiT
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1kJhR6r
ITunes: http://bit.ly/1t4cWVv

I bet you want to find out more about Carrie Ann Ryan.  Not to worry, I’ve included her details as well :D   Oh, and check below for a tour-wide giveaway!!!

USA Today Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan never thought she’d be a writer. Not really. No, she loved math and science and even went on to graduate school in chemistry. Yes, she read as a kid and devoured teen fiction and Harry Potter, but it wasn’t until someone handed her a romance book in her late teens that she realized that there was something out there just for her. When another author suggested she use the voices in her head for good and not evil, The Redwood Pack and all her other stories were born.

Carrie Ann is a bestselling author of over twenty novels and novellas and has so much more on her mind (and on her spreadsheets *grins*) that she isn’t planning on giving up her dream anytime soon.

Get in touch with Carrie Ann Ryan!

Website: http://carrieannryan.com/

Blog: http://carrieannryan.com/blog/

Facebook, Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/CarrieAnnRyanAuthor

Facebook, Friend: https://www.facebook.com/carrieannryanwrites

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarrieAnnRyan

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5360266.Carrie_Ann_Ryan

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/carrieannryan/

Newsletter: http://carrieannryan.us4.list-manage1.com/subscribe?u=4fd27cc0d4abd9691ecaa236e&id=de39f7f897

Email: http://carrieannryan.com/contact-me/

Giveaway!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

MamaJo

MamaJo is a working wife and mother of two that is rarely seen without a book in her hand. She started reading horror novels in elementary school and from there has read some of everything. Her favorite genres are horror, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, suspense, and romantic suspense. You will also catch her with a contemporary or historical romance at least once a month to "cleanse her reading palate".

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest

Blog Tour + GIVEAWAY: Soul Seduction by Joy Daniels

 

 

Soul Seduction 

by Joy Daniels


Description:



An eternal Succubus
For centuries she has visited men in their beds, arousing
their bodies to harvest nefesh, the
life energy that the demon world depends upon. Any man will do, and she has
never visited a man twice. Until now.
A mortal man
For weeks Sean Moran has dreamed of a beautiful woman who
pleasures his body and ravishes his soul. Afraid that he is losing his mind, he
follows a trail of mysteries and magic to an extraordinary conclusion.
One night

 

In the space between the worlds, Sean and the Succubus come
together to experience passion in each other’s arms. But in their union a powerful
secret is revealed—one that could endanger their very souls.  
Forever.







Excerpt:


Hunger.
It pulled at her, a soul-deep craving demanding to be filled. The succubus
closed her eyes, tried to it block out, but the ache only intensified. She had
gone too long without feeding. It was her duty to travel to the Earthly Plane,
visit humans in their beds, and harvest the soul-sustaining nefesh that
sustained the demon world. A duty she had performed for centuries without
thought. Without question.

Until now.

It wasn’t
that she didn’t want to feed. Oh no. I
want to so badly
. To sense a human beneath her. To hear his cries of
pleasure and sate herself on his essence. But not just any human. And that was the problem.

One night—was it only a month ago?—she’d sensed a
presence stronger than any other, a soul-source so rich and deep that she flew
to it like a bee to a flower. She hadn’t stopped to wonder why this soul called
out to her as it did. She still could not answer that question.

Her kind
fed during dream sex while the human slept. For the mortal it might be a
pleasurable experience, transcendent even. For her it was a meal. Some were
fast food, others steak—this man was like a gourmet meal laced with crack
cocaine. Each night that she had gone to his bed, she’d told herself would be
the last. Each time she’d been wrong.

Tonight
she would break the spell. Resist feeding as long as she could. Then, when she
was weak and desperate for sustenance,
she would go to the nearest source. Convince herself to visit another man’s
bed.

She was
playing a dangerous game. Taking an enormous risk, and not only because she
would be punished severely if the Master found out. No, if she went too long
without the soul-sustaining nefesh,
her Master’s punishments would be the least of her concerns.

Pain shot
through her and the scene wavered. She had to go now, before feeding was no
longer an option.

She opened
her eyes to the rumble-strewn landscape of the Sitra Achra, the Other Side. This desolate plain was at the very
edge of the demon realm, where the veil between the worlds was thinnest. Here,
she could sense the human souls that pulsed with life on the Earthly Plane. And
one soul in particular… To a hungry succubus, the human soulscape should
sparkle, like a night sky filled with stars. Instead, the myriad souls faded in
comparison to the one whose beacon seemed to glow just for her. Tugging,
pleading, his spirit cried out to her. Implored her to join him.

She could no longer
deny her need. With a curse and a cry, she descended out of the darkness and
flew towards the light.



Enter to Win – A Progressive Giveaway! 


For every 250 Rafflecopter Entries, there will be a winner and a new prize level will be opened!



There will be 1 WINNER for each level below:



250 entries – ARC of Soul Seduction

500 entries – ARC of Soul Seduction + ecopy of Revving Her Up

750 entries – ARC of Soul Seduction + ecopy of Revving Her Up + $10 Amazon OR iTunes

1000 entries – ARC of Soul Seduction + ecopy of Revving Her Up + $10 Amazon AND $10 iTunes

1250 entries – ARC of Soul Seduction + ecopy of Revving Her Up + $10 Amazon or $25 iTunes giftcard + $10 or $25 (total of $35)

1500 entries – ARC of Soul Seduction + ecopy of Revving Her Up + + $25 iTunes giftcard + $25 Amazon giftcard (total of $50)

 


 


About the Author:

 

I write erotic romance because I like to expose my characters completely – strengths, flaws and scars. My debut novella, Revving Her Up, was the first story in the Full Throttle series, which focuses on the bad boys – and girls – of stock car racing. It was a Night Owl Reviews Top Pick, and has been called “one heck of a sexy ride” (Sizzling Hot Books), and “a hell of a sexy read” (Read-Love-Blog). I am currently working on the next two stories in the series.



My newest novel, Nashville Trio, is a steamy MMF ménage novel about a country singer and the two very different men in her life. It comes out May 5, 2014.



New Adult romance is my new favorite passion. I love writing stories with angst and heart, heart-melting kisses, and happy endings. I’m currently working on two New Adults series. The first, Running Scared , is about a Boston University student and the bodyguard hired to protect her from herself. It will be out in August 2014. The second series is a trilogy (Scarred, Burned, and Marked) about three friends bound together by a terrible tragedy and the scars it left behind.



I’m originally from New York City, (and still a loyal Yankees fan!), but since moving south, I’ve developed passions for NASCAR and country music. Both feature in my recent stories. In addition to writing (and reading) I enjoy yoga, bellydancing, and growing veggies in the Washington, D.C. area with my scientist husband and two curious kids. I’m active in the Washington Romance Writers, and the Maryland Romance Writers, and have been a member of the Romance Writers of America (RWA) since 2009.




I love hearing from readers so stop by, and say Hi! at www.authorjoydaniels.com or friend/follow me on Goodreads, Facebook or Twitter. Come join me on Pinterest to see pics of hot kisses, sexy heroes, and images relating to current and future works-in-progress (WIPs). 




If you want like to hear all the latest news and gossip, including information about upcoming releases and appearances, you can sign up for my newsletter here.




Be the first to hear about works-in-progress, help plot and plan upcoming stories, and get great swag by signing up for my street team, the Front Runners! For more info contact me via email at: authorjoydaniels at gmail dot com.




Thanks for stopping by!

Social Links:  

 

 

Tour Coordinator:
I ? Bookie Nookie Reviews

Please check out the other blogs participating in this Release Day Blast: (click the image to go to their blog)



I ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie ReviewsI ? Bookie Nookie Reviews

This post contains Affiliate Links.

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Release day blitz: DEEP IN DEATH by Colleen Helme

Deep In Death 
(A Shelby Nichols Adventure #6)
By Colleen Helme
Blurb: 
Running “errands” for her mob-boss employer, Joey “The Knife” Manetto, often ends with Shelby in trouble, making her cautious about continuing her association with him. Instead, she focuses on a new client who hires Shelby to find her missing mother. What seems like a routine case turns into something more sinister and deadly than she ever imagined. In the meantime, Uncle Joey has summoned Shelby to his office, where she runs into her former nemesis. Shelby inadvertently hears something that makes her fear for the lives of Uncle Joey and his hit-man, Ramos. This time, Uncle Joey is not sure he wants to involve Shelby in something he knows could get her killed. Keeping Shelby’s involvement to a minimum has disastrous results, sending Shelby on a dangerous path. As her investigation unfolds, Shelby finds death at every turn, and soon realizes she is in over her head. Can she escape from danger in time? Or will she find herself deep in death?
Available for purchase at
   
Excerpt

“I’m investigating a missing person’s report.” I pulled out
my file and opened it up.
“Her name’s Darcy Shaw, and she went missing about
six years ago. Do you think I could look at your files and see if there’s
anything I could use?”
Dimples frowned. “From that long ago, it’s probably
downstairs in the dead files room. Come on, I’ll show you where they are.”
“Thanks.”
I followed him to the hall and down two flights of stairs to
the basement. He opened the door to a room and flipped on the light.
Wall-to-wall filing cabinets filled the room, and a stale, musty odor permeated
the air. From the smell, I’d guess no one had come down here in a long time,
kind of how I imagined it would smell visiting a mausoleum. It seemed colder
than normal too, and I realized that all of the files belonged to real people
who had disappeared and were probably dead, and no one knew why or how.
“Go ahead and take a look,” Dimples said. “They’re filed
alphabetically.”
“Um…yeah, okay.” I hesitated, not wanting to venture further
into the room. It was so cold and dank that it kind of gave me the creeps. But
I only needed one file.
That wouldn’t take long.
“When you’re done, come on back up and I’ll fill you in on a
case I could use your help with.” Dimples was thinking he was anxious to leave
me to it, not because he had a lot to do upstairs, but because the room had
kind of a weird vibe that he didn’t like.
“You’re leaving me here alone?” I blurted.
“What? You’re not scared are you?” He scoffed. “It’s just a
room with files in it.
There aren’t even any guns or crazy killers down here.”
“Oh fine,” I said, still hesitating in the doorway and
wishing I hadn’t heard that part about the weird vibe.
“You want me to stay?” He folded his arms and raised his
brow in challenge.
“Of course not,” I said. “Like you said, I’ll be fine.”
“Good. Hey…if one of those files attacks you…I’m right
up-stairs if you need me.”
“Ha, ha.”
He chuckled and left. I shook my head and hurried over to
the cabinets. As I found the cabinet with “S through T” on it, the door clicked
shut behind Dimples, sealing me in. It was deathly quiet. The only sounds in
the room came from me. My breathing and the shift of my feet echoed from the
walls, magnifying each tiny breath and movement I made.
An unexplained sense of urgency rolled over me. I was alone
in an enclosed space that seemed to get smaller the longer I stood there. A sudden
stab of dread tightened my stomach, and my hands shook a little. It was mostly
thoughts of the lights going out and leaving me in total darkness that did it.
If Bates knew I was here, I wouldn’t put it past him to do that to me, and I
wanted out of this creepy place as fast as I could.
With renewed effort, I scanned the labels until I came to
the right drawer and yanked it open. I quickly leafed through the folders and
caught my breath to actually find the file. I swallowed with relief and pulled
the bulky file out. Pursing my lips together, I set it on top of the other
folders and opened it up checking to make sure it was the right one.
A larger version of the same picture I’d received from
Tiffany stared back at me. Her eyes held a haunting mixture of sadness and
foreboding, and goose bumps broke out along my arms. A sudden chill ran up my
spine and my heart picked up speed. All at once, it felt like I wasn’t alone,
and someone was standing right there beside me. I froze. I didn’t believe in
ghosts, but I didn’t dare look either.
My mouth went dry and I hardly dared to take a breath.
Glancing back down at the picture, I felt something cold and feather-like brush
against my cheek. I inhaled sharply. It came a second time and I jerked my face
away, hunching my shoulders to my neck with fear. “I…I’ll try and find out what
happened to you,” I croaked. The chill intensified, then suddenly fell away in
a cool breeze, leaving the scent of flowers behind, which I recognized as the
distinct smell of gardenias.
With my heart racing, I grabbed the file and slammed the
drawer shut, then raced out of the room as fast as I could. In my haste, I left
the light on, but I was too scared to go back and turn it off. The smell of
gardenias stayed with me all the way up the stairs, but disappeared as I
entered the office. With my chest heaving, I hurried over to Dimples’ desk and
sat down, rubbing my cold arms.

 

 

 

About the Author

 A long career as a wife and mother while juggling several part-time jobs gave Colleen the ambition to dream of being a published author, where she could put her imagination to good use. Now instead of making up stories to tell her children, she writes books they love to read. Hopefully you will too. She is the author of three romantic fantasy novels, Songbird, Flame of Destiny and The Relic. Her Shelby Nichols Adventures include Carrots, Fast Money, Lie or Die, Secrets That Kill, and Trapped By Revenge coming soon!

 

You can find Colleen here:
         
Presented By

 

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Review: A Night of Misbehaving by Carmen Falcone

A Night of MisbehavingFor just one night, Georgia Taylor wants to forget about her demanding job and the everyday struggles of being a single mom. Her track record with men is pitiful, but that’s fine because her responsibilities don’t leave room for love anyway. The new online dating site is perfect for what she’s after.

But Georgia’s plans are crushed when Brent Turner, aka Sexy Dad and father of her daughter’s classmate, turns out to be her internet date, therefore, eliminating any possibility for a night without consequences.

All of Brent Turner’s honorable intentions fly out the window when he sees highly strung “Super Mom” waiting for her date at the bar. Determined to win Georgia’s trust and show her a good time, their no-strings evening promises to become so much more…until, that is, she discovers what he’s really up to.

ebook, 77 pages

Published April 14th 2014 by Entangled: Indulgence

ISBN13: 9781622665594

I loved the idea behind A Night of Misbehaving – online dating goes awry when they know each other through their kids’ school. But the story was far too short to be believable. They had one date. They had great sex. But then she immediately finds out about the deception and flips out (understandably so). But she’s stuck in his head and he pursues her until she gives in.

I just didn’t feel like they had enough time to make a real enough connection for him to pursue her like that. But it was a cute and quick read.

 

Rating: 3 stars

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Entangled Scandalous July release day blast

The summer is getting hotter with four new releases from Scandalous this month. One is the latest Men of Fortune release, FALLING FOR THE PIRATE by Amber Lin, a tantalizing tale of a pirate’s vengeance. The second is a regency romance, FOR HER SPY ONLY by Robin DeHart, which gives a delicious story of a jilted woman and a withdrawn Marquess. Third, is the second novel in The Worth Brothers series, LOVE’S JUSTICE by Joan Avery, featuring an independent heroine and the man who finds her fascinating. And fourth is TEMPTING HER RELUCTANT VISCOUNT by Catherine Hemmerling, part of the Lady Lancaster Garden Society series and a sizzling regency romance read. 

About
Falling for the Pirate:
Vengeance is a dish best served in bed…
London, 1820
After the deaths of his parents and a dark, troubled childhood, Captain Nate Bowen vowed he would have his revenge. But he never expected to have the tool of his revenge dropped so neatly into his lap. Juliana Hargate is not only the daughter of his enemy, but is destitute, very much alone – and exquisitely desirable. And now that Nate has saved her life, she’s at his complete mercy…
Captive. All Juliana wanted was to clear her father’s name. Instead, she’s been struck with amnesia - unable to recall even her name – and imprisoned by a tall, imposing, and entirely unscrupulous pirate. A pirate whose eyes seem to look past her skirts and many petticoats, and whose touch sends delicious ripples of desire through her. With every passing day, she finds herself tempted to give him the very thing he’s determined to take… 
Add it to Goodreads

Purchase your
copy:
Entangled site: http://goo.gl/86M87x
About
For Her Spy Only:
He’ll never forget her—but can he ever forgive her?
England, 1814
When Winifred is rescued from her snow-stranded carriage by the notorious and reclusive Alistair, Marquess of Coventry, she is instantly drawn to him. Jilted by her betrothed and socially ruined by untrue rumors, Winifred is tired of paying for crimes she didn’t commit and decides to play the seductress London society claims she is. Thinking a night of passion shouldn’t leave any lasting effects, she instead finds her heart marked forever.
Six years later, Alistair is working for the Regent as a spy. A search for Napoleon’s English supporters leads him to the beguiling Winifred, recently widowed with a young son. He hasn’t forgotten how the unconventional beauty warmed his bed, and the heat between them rekindles immediately. The spymaster is determined to uncover all of plucky Winifred’s secrets. Especially the one regarding her son…
Add
it to
Goodreads
Purchase your
copy:
Entangled site: http://ow.ly/zcNyG

 

About Love’s Justice:
He holds her fate in his hands…
London, 1879
American heiress Victoria Wentworth has spent her life blithely ignoring her father’s wishes… until he enters her into an unwanted marriage contract with a despicable man. She has two choices: marry the bounder or fight the archaic English laws in court. Her only hope is Hugh Worth, the Earl Montgomery and Lord Chancellor of the Exchequer: her judge and jury. Society paints him as stern and subdued, yet fair. Society didn’t warn her that beneath his somber facade beats a passionate heart and soul.
Hugh finds himself irresistibly, inexplicably, drawn to the spirited American, despite himself and his better judgment. As the inconvenient heiress takes on the fight against the very foundation of his life and career, another battle wages in his once cold heart. Everything about her is inappropriate, illogical, and unexpected. Yet, she is a woman he could admire. A woman of intelligence and beliefs that challenge the
existing world. 
But she is forbidden.
Add it to Goodreads
Purchase your
copy:
Entangled site: http://goo.gl/2J2eJp

 

About Tempting Her Reluctant Viscount:
A pretend courtship…a real scandal
London, 1814
Hope Stuckeley has lusted after the handsome and charismatic Michael Ashmore, the Viscount Lichfield, for ages - never mind that she’s never actually spoken to him. When the two join forces to investigate a London stock market scandal, pretending he is courting her gives her the chance to prove she’s more than the bookworm he takes her for.
After years of service as a soldier and newly titled as a viscount, actual marriage and settling down are the last things on confirmed bachelor Michael’s mind. But when their investigation puts the delectable Hope in danger, discovering the truth about the scandal could jeopardize the future he didn’t know he wanted.

 

 

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase your
copy:
Entangled site: http://goo.gl/3CnVtj

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Carrie Ann Ryan Talks About Heroes and Loving the Omega + Giveaway

Please give a warm Mama Kitty Welcome to Carrie Ann Ryan!!!  Today she stops by to talk Heroes and Loving the Omega (A Redwood Pack Novel, book 7.5). There is also a tour wide giveaway, so be sure to follow the tour and enter :)

Heroes

When you read a romance novel you’re guaranteed a few things. If it’s a true romance, will get your happy ever after. You get a heroine you’ll want to be or want to throw off a cliff—same with the hero. It really depends on my mood. *wink* You’ll find yourself cheering up sometimes, and fanning your face at other times. You’ll live the emotional roller coaster of having these two characters fall in love while the outside world may try to pull them apart. You’ll gasp, clutch the side of your book or Kindle, sit on the edge of your seat suspense.

And if you’re reading a good romance, you’ll find a sexy hero. Sure, he may not be sexy on the outside, but he could be damn well sexy on the inside. Reading a romance novel is an escape, we know it. Look outside of the people around you, you know that not every heroine and hero is real life. You know that what we see in real life, may not be the perfect romance. And that’s okay, that’s why we dive into these worlds and find new people. Life isn’t perfect, and neither are our heroes.

Sure they could have eight pack abs, that chiseled jaw, strong muscles, the eyes that twinkle or smolder. They could have that growly voice and that alpha male tendency to take over. But then they could be tortured, scarred, sweet, beta, an ass….

They could be anything.

And that’s what makes him sexy. No matter how sexy he is on the outside, what we leave with after reading is how sexy he is on the inside. It’s how he takes care of his heroine. She needs to know that yes he can protect her, but she needs to protect herself. And he needs to let it happen. He needs to know that she can be the one to protect him.

And he needs to be man enough to let it happen.

That’s what makes a sexy hero. The duality of being that strong man who cares. So yes he could have the sexy build, the chiseled face, the smile that turns you weak, and the silky locks you want to tangle your fingers in (yes, I’m talking to you, my hero Maddox from Loving the Omega and Shattered Emotions), but if you didn’t have the personality to back that up, he wouldn’t be as sexy to me.

Maddox is a tortured hero. He has scars—emotionally and physically—and isn’t what some would call sexy because of it. Ellie though sees through all that. He’s been in the background waiting and fighting.

Now it’s his turn.

So what do you think defines a sexy hero? Visit his looks or the way he acts smart or is it both. Or does it really matter?

Are you ready to hear more about Maddox and Ellie?

Maddox Jamenson almost lost his mate before he knew she existed, but his life is now exactly how he’d dreamed it. The war with the Centrals is over, and his family is healing one day at a time. Ellie is reveling in the simple perfection that is her life and family now, but that doesn’t mean she can shed the self-doubts and concerns that come with being a new mother, mate, and Redwood.

 

When a disturbance in their quiet life threatens to ruin everything they’ve fought for, Maddox and Ellie will have to learn not only to rely on each other more than ever, but find within themselves the power to forgive.

 

Author’s Note: This is a novella set after book 7 to give you a taste of Maddox and Ellie. It is best that you have already immersed yourselves in the Redwood Pack world, however even new readers will enjoy a glimpse of one of the Redwood’s favorite couples.

 

http://carrieannryan.com/loving-the-omega/

 


Excerpt

Goddess, what idiots they’d been.

Communication was key in any relationship, and it was even more so for two lost souls who were too afraid to hurt not only each other but also the Pack that had loved and taken her in.

“Ellie mine, what are you thinking about so hard that I can feel your wolf pacing even in human form?” Maddox’s hands brushed up her sides from her hips until he gently cupped her breasts. His hands bypassed her nipples though, and she arched into him, wanting more.

He pulled back after leaving a kiss on her neck then turned her in his arms. She reached up and ran a hand through his sandy blond hair. He had his mother’s hair. Not that she could tell him that anymore, not when the sense of loss would supersede the past memories of what they once had been. “If you keep moaning that way, Ellie mine, then we’ll be naked and sweaty when the Silvers come over to talk about their son.”

Ellie let out a sigh and leaned her head on his shoulder. “As much as I like to be naked and sweaty with you, I guess you’re right. The Silvers should be here any moment. I’d rather not scare them any more than they already are.”

Maddox sighed. “So are you going to tell me what you were thinking about?”

Ellie shrugged. “I’m just thinking about the past, present, and future. You know, nothing too big.”

Buy Links

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1nv8lZ8

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1wjwJxq

ARe: http://bit.ly/1mZ220W

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1l6O7U0

iTunes:  http://bit.ly/1pdAuWq

USA Today Bestselling Author Carrie Ann Ryan never thought she’d be a writer. Not really. No, she loved math and science and even went on to graduate school in chemistry. Yes, she read as a kid and devoured teen fiction and Harry Potter, but it wasn’t until someone handed her a romance book in her late teens that she realized that there was something out there just for her. When another author suggested she use the voices in her head for good and not evil, The Redwood Pack and all her other stories were born.

Carrie Ann is a bestselling author of over twenty novels and novellas and has so much more on her mind (and on her spreadsheets *grins*) that she isn’t planning on giving up her dream anytime soon.

Get in touch with Carrie Ann Ryan!

Website: http://carrieannryan.com/

Blog: http://carrieannryan.com/blog/

Facebook, Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/CarrieAnnRyanAuthor

Facebook, Friend: https://www.facebook.com/carrieannryanwrites

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarrieAnnRyan

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5360266.Carrie_Ann_Ryan

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/carrieannryan/

Newsletter: http://carrieannryan.us4.list-manage1.com/subscribe?u=4fd27cc0d4abd9691ecaa236e&id=de39f7f897

Email: http://carrieannryan.com/contact-me/

 

This giveaway will be a Carrie Ann Ryan signed paperback and a $15 Amazon gift card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thank you so much for stopping by today!


MamaJo

MamaJo is a working wife and mother of two that is rarely seen without a book in her hand. She started reading horror novels in elementary school and from there has read some of everything. Her favorite genres are horror, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, suspense, and romantic suspense. You will also catch her with a contemporary or historical romance at least once a month to "cleanse her reading palate".

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest

Review: Resisting the Rancher by Roxanne Snopek

Resisting the Rancher (Three River Ranch, #4)Country veterinarian Celia Gamble is in trouble. A misunderstanding from her past is rearing its ugly head and the only person she can turn to is Jonah Clarke—her family’s lawyer and, as it turns out, her brother’s best friend and her childhood crush. She always wanted Jonah to see her as a bona fide woman, but as a woman who’s being blackmailed for seducing a married man? Not on her life.

Jonah is happy to help Little CeeCee Gamble, if only she’d come clean about why she’s being blackmailed. But with his best friend Zach’s wedding on the horizon, and Zach’s fashionista fiancée Desiree giving CeeCee a makeover, the little duckling Jonah remembers is turning into a definite swan. And the unwritten law on sisters is clear—hands off. Jonah must resist or lose the only true family he’s ever known.

ebook, 259 pages
Published April 14th 2014 by Entangled: Bliss (first published February 10th 2014)
original title: The Forbidden Rancher
ISBN13: 9781622661688
I haven’t read the other books in this series, but I wasn’t lost for the most part on the characters and their back stories. Celia and Jonah have known each other their whole lives. She’s the younger sister of his best friends (my favorite trope, by the way) and she’s always been in love with him. But she’s always tried to keep up with the boys and never really acted girly, so Jonah never saw her in that light. She went away to college to become a vet, she comes back and allows herself to be put in a dress for one of her brothers’ weddings (in a previous book, I’m assuming). Jonah finally sees that she’s a girl and starts having all of the feels – just one problem… He’s terrified the family will hate him and her older brother will castrate him. So he ignores those feels. Until she comes back and sets up her practice. Suddenly he can’t ignore her anymore because she’s there all the time.

I had a hard time getting into this book. Mostly because it started so slow. Their first kiss wasn’t until almost halfway through the book. But they were cute together and I liked that she realized that she had to be okay with herself before she could pursue a relationship with him.

Rating: 4 stars

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

NA Round-Up: MamaMia’s Totally Touching Five-Meow Reads

Hello, world! Things have been heating up at Mama Kitty Reviews and at Electra Editorial Service, the company that I created with Mama Kitty to provide romance, young adult, and new adult authors with affordable, high-quality editing and proofreading services. Even though Mama Kitty and I have been mucho busy, we have been reading some amazing books lately. Here are three really awesome, five-meow New Adult books that I think everyone should read!

5 Meows all around! 

1. Find You In The Dark by A. Meredith Walters

  • Print Length: 310 pages
  • Publisher: Gallery Books; Reprint edition (January 20, 2014)
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc

Maggie Young had the market on normal. Normal friends, normal parents, normal grades…normal life. Until him.

Clayton Reed was running from his past and an army of personal demons that threatened to take him down. He never thought he had a chance at happiness. Until her.

Maggie thought their love could overcome anything. Clay thought she was all he needed to fix his messy life. That together, they could face the world. But the darkness is always waiting. Sometimes the greatest obstacle to true love is within yourself.

 ***

You will not regret purchasing this book and its sequel. Walters tackles a tough topic—mental illness—and places it in the older-YA/NA world, all with backstabbing friendships, relationship drama, and the yawning unknown of leaving high school and everything familiar. The reader simultaneously wants to root for Maggie and Clayton, while at the same time, strongly suggesting that they run far, far away from each other. They’re dynamic. They’re dramatic. They’re made for each other. In the end, this is such a beautiful story of love and hope—this story is real. It’s a constant on my re-read list. It’s just that good.

***

2. Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles

Print Length: 333 pages
Publisher: TKA Distribution (May 13, 2014)

After her senior year of high school leaves behind nothing but heartache, Olivia Beaumont is sure of this: She’s no stupid girl. She sets out for Winston College, promising herself that she will remain focused on her first and only love – astronomy. But all it takes is cocky sophomore Brax Jenkins and an accidental collision with a football, to throw her entire year off course.

A quick-tempered Southie who escaped the inner city streets of Boston to pitch for Winston, Brax is known to play way more fields than just the baseball diamond. So, when his name is drawn to take part in his fraternity’s hazing dare, Brax eagerly accepts the mission to take Olivia’s virginity. But he doesn’t plan on falling hard for the sweet and sassy Texas girl who sees right through his bad-boy persona.

As Olivia and Brax battle their feelings for each other, echoes of the past year begin to surface. A boy who once turned Olivia’s whole world upside down reappears, and “harmless” pranks wreak havoc. Pretty soon the aspiring astronomer is on the verge of revealing her most difficult, heartbreaking secret. All the while, Brax must wrestle with the irrevocable dare, and Olivia struggles against all logic as she does the one thing only a stupid girl would do: fall in love.

***

STUPID GIRL is probably one of my favorite NA’s of the year so far. This book is set in Texas (an automatic win for me), and features sports (baseballanother win for me). The characters are well-developed and well-rounded; Miles coaxes the reader feel everything alongside these characters she’s created. I simultaneously loved, hated, pitied, (and loved again) Brax Jenkins. I was drawn to Olivia Beaumont—her strength and vulnerability. This is a highly emotional, highly energized read. Fair warning: You will spend a sleepless night reading through the story. It’s un-putdownable.

***

3. Full Measures by Rebecca Yarros

  • Print Length: 237 pages
  • Publisher: Entangled: Embrace (February 10, 2014)
  • Sold by: Macmillan

She knew. That’s why Mom hadn’t opened the door. She knew he was dead.

Twenty years as an army brat and Ember Howard knew, too. The soldiers at the door meant her dad was never coming home. What she didn’t know was how she would find the strength to singlehandedly care for her crumbling family when her mom falls apart.

Then Josh Walker enters her life. Hockey star, her new next-door neighbor, and not to mention the most delicious hands that insist on saving her over and over again. He has a way of erasing the pain with a single look, a single touch. As much as she wants to turn off her feelings and endure the heartache on her own, she can’t deny their intense attraction.

Until Josh’s secret shatters their world. And Ember must decide if he’s worth the risk that comes with loving a man who could strip her bare.

***

I’m fairly certain that stock in Kleenex went up exponentially when I read this book. MamaKitty has also reviewed this book after I placed our friendship on the line if she didn’t pick up a copy right then and there. She did. She cried, she loved, she read. Yarros creates a poignant, gut-wrenching story about two lovers who meet in the midst of near unspeakable tragedy. Everything about this story is well-developed—the plot and the characters. The sex scenes were hot and moving at the same time (a feat that not a lot of writers can successfully carry through). The love-making isn’t there to be sexy, per se, but it is there to draw the characters closer and make the reader feel. And oh, I had all the feels. *sniffles* I want to know more about Ember, Josh, and the crazy world that they live in. Uglycrying from page one aside, this love story touched me—it’s stuck with me for months after reading the final chapter. 

***

What totally touching books have you been reading lately? Let us know in the comments!

XO,

MamaMia

A recent college grad and lover of all things literary, MamaMia has been reading romance novels probably before it was appropriate for her to do so. She is addicted to her iPhone and all social media, and she is always on the prowl for good characters to fall in love with. She is currently on a contemporary romance kick, but is known to read about vampires, teens fighting bad guys, and Navy SEALs, to name a few.

More Posts - Website - Twitter

Our Sponsors

Social Networking