Grab my button!

MamaKitty Reviews

Subscribe by Email

Reading Until Dawn

Review requests currently closed

Our review request pile is currently closer to a mountain, and we're kind of afraid it's going to fall on our heads and bury us all in a massive book avalanche. Until we can get through the majority of the TBR list we have right now, we at MKR are currently unable to accept any new review requests.

author: tibby armstrong

Happy release day to Tibby Armstrong!! (CONTEST)

Today is release day for my girl Tibby Armstrong!! Hard Target, the third book in the Covert Attractions series is out today! I loved the first two books in the series, Sheet Music and Undercover Lover, and I routinely bugged her while reading UL because there was just something about Simon that interested me. Now, you get to read about my favorite ex-CIA badass hottie along with me! Grab your copy today and join me in the Simon/Alexandra fanclub!

Blurb: 

Hard TargetWomen in general have never been former CIA-hacker Simon Jakes’ specialty. For one, they usually don’t get his jokes. Or when they do, they don’t find them funny. And there’s his love affair with books. Reading at dinner? Out of the question on a date. Not to mention his idea of amusement: sparring on the Judo mat. Sure, it could lead to sex, but most women find bruises and sprained ankles a turnoff.

Then there’s his ex-girlfriend, FBI agent Alexandra Valentine. With a voice like “angel sanctioned sin” and a body to inspire a second Trojan conquest–of the latex variety–she should be Simon’s match made in heaven. If only she weren’t so busy repeatedly damning him to hell for a crime he didn’t commit. Five years ago. When she sent him to prison and turned his career to a pile of ash.

When Alex sashays back into his life with a job proposition Simon isn’t allowed to refuse, this time around he vows to keep his heart and his mission separate. Compared to negotiating the minefield of their relationship, the job should be simple. Take down a criminal organization run by billionaire John Downing and try not to get killed along the way. The problem is, with a woman as sexy as Alex by his side, it’s difficult to keep his mind on the mission and out of the bedroom.

At their darkest hour, each has a decision to make. To trust despite the fog of lies and deception being spun around them, or to fail because a second crack at love proved the hardest and most impenetrable target of all.

Want to win a copy of Hard Target? Enter below! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Books that make you ignore the entire world

I was reading an interview in the Huffington Post not too long ago with Stevie Nicks and she was discussing (what else?) music. She mentioned that she used to listen to records where she felt like: “Don’t talk to me. Don’t even call me for three days because I am totally busy, and it’s a Godsend this record and I can’t even think about anything else right now.” 

And it’s funny, because I’ve felt that way about a few albums back in the day, but now I mostly feel that way about books. I get to the point where I lock myself in my room or in my office just to get away from everyone else because I have to finish this book and if I get interrupted one more time, I might go postal.

I can’t say that I’m entirely lacking in books like that. Just check my 5 star ratings, and those are pretty much all books that I’ve been murderous upon interruption. Off the top of my head, my favorites are:

  • No Apologies by Tibby Armstrong. I re-read this one when I’m having a horrible day. Greg and Aaron make everything better.
  • Dirty by Megan Hart. This book tears me up no matter how many times I re-read it. But it’s fantastic and I can’t help but pick it back up every now and then.
  • Lover Reborn by JR Ward. It’s Tohr. Did you really think he wouldn’t be on my list? ;)
  • Naked in Death by JD Robb. Okay, this one I’m kind of cheating, since I’m this way with all JD Robb books, but I had to pick one for my list. Why not go with the one that introduced us to Roarke?
  • Acting Out by Tibby Armstrong. Yup, another Tibby book. This is the sequel to No Apologies featuring the actors that played Greg and Aaron in the movie that No Apologies featured. Kit and Jeremy star and I love them almost as much as I love Greg and Aaron.
  • Hot Head by Damon Suede. I raved over Dante and Griff’s story. It made me sob like an infant, laugh out loud like a lunatic, and turn on the fan because it was so hot (locker room. unffff.)

 

But I wonder – what are your favorite DO NOT INTERRUPT ME books?

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

GLBT Madness Hop

Click the banner to be taken to the next stop in the hop! (but don't forget to enter the contest!!) If you're not logged into TRR, you can just click on the next link!

Today marks the beginning of The Romance Reviews GLBT Madness Hop. It runs from September 27 through the 30th. In my previous post, I provided a list of all the authors and bloggers who are contributing.  TRR is hosting a very special giveaway (click on the banner for details). If you’re not a member of TRR, that’s okay! It’s easy to join and it’s FREE.

As part of today’s blog hop, I was going to simply review a book and give it away like I did with the last blog hop. But I figured I’d talk about why I love reading GLBT romance so much instead. I know some people wonder (mostly because they’ve asked me).

I started reading m/m a few years ago, when a friend introduced me to the genre. I was reading a LOT of fanfic at the time, and occasionally I’d run across some that were dubbed “slash” (male-slash-male). I usually skipped those because I was a diehard [insert m/f characters here] shipper and I refused to consider any other option besides that pair.

Oh, how naive I was.

My friend Jane bought my first non-fanfic m/m for me in around 2009. It wasn’t like the m/m’s I read today – no, it was what we call a PWP: a porn with a plot. I wasn’t that into it, since I need some actual romance and characterization and a REAL plot to go with the smex. I didn’t give up on my first try – I read about 10 or so before I decided I was done.

 

Then I started blogging, and Jane and I lost touch over the years. I’m sad about that part, but not about the blogging. In my blogging life, I’ve met some pretty amazing people (both authors and bloggers alike) and I’ve loved every minute of it. One day, I was hanging out on Twitter (huge shocker, I know) when I saw KC from Smokin’ Hot Books and Mandi from Smexy Books talking about a book they’d read. It was called Somebody Killed His Editor by Josh Lanyon, and they were RAVING about it. Since I’d loved everything they’d suggested so far, I figured “Why not?” and bought my own copy.

I finished it in one sitting.

I fell in love with Josh Lanyon’s writing. I fell in love with the characters. And I realized that it’s HOTTER when the two characters are men. Why is that, you ask? Well, because they’re both men. Duh.

Actually, it goes deeper than that. I love m/m books where they’re both strong-willed (read: Alpha) and butt heads. I love even more than they break the barriers down around their hearts and become “smushy” (it’s a technical term) with each other. Seeing a big strong burly man lovin’ on another one is… for lack of a better term… FREAKING HOT. And touching.

Since that fateful day when I picked up my first Josh Lanyon book, I’ve gone on to discover many, many more m/m authors I adore. Tibby Armstrong, LA Witt, Damon Suede, Andrew Grey, Kaje Harper, Brien Michaels, Abigail Roux, Sloan Parker, KA Mitchell, Mary Calmes, Dane Cameron, ZA Maxfield… I could probably keep listing forever. You should see my bookshelf on my Kindle – if it were a real shelf, it would’ve broken under the weight by now!

If you’re still with me (and I hope you are —  I know I ramble a lot), I’d like to invite you to read two of my absolute most favorite authors in the world: Tibby Armstrong and LA Witt. I’m offering the chance to win No Apologies by Tibby Armstrong (the book where I fell in love with Greg and Aaron! And met Tibby for the first time!) and I will pre-order Conduct Unbecoming by LA Witt for you (it’s due to release October 23, 2012).

Sound good? Great! Now, comment on this entry and fill in that Rafflecopter thing below. You know you want to. :)  

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Acting Out by Tibby Armstrong is now available!

I reviewed Acting Out last month when Tibby was kind enough to send me an ARC. Now, everyone is lucky enough to be able to get their very own copy of Tibby Armstrong’s amazing book since it was released today!! *cue happy dancing*
Title: Acting Out
ISBN: 978-1-61118-858-5
Genre: LGBT Contemporary
Length: Novel Plus
Series: Previous Book: No Apologies (May be read as stand-alone novel.)

Jeremy Ash, aspiring actor, is single, gorgeous…and openly, quietly gay. When he lands a starring role opposite America’s favorite former child star, 21-year old Kit Harris, he’s ecstatic and more than a little attracted to the enigmatic star.

Kit Harris’s career has been flagging and his agent promises this new film, an edgy coming out story with a famed director, is just the thing to get it back on track. The problem is that the film is relatively intimate in nature, and Kit’s definitely not gay. He’s not even slightly bent.

When the two men collide in a crushing first test kiss, Kit’s left reeling and Jeremy’s left wanting, and both are left gasping for air. And that was just the screen test. When filming starts and the two men are brought into close proximity every day, passions ignite and souls collide–both on screen and off. The two men find that the only way to assuage their mutual lust is to give in to it. Kit’s sure this strange new attraction will run its course; Jeremy’s hoping it never has to end.

But when a manipulative model obtains salacious film footage of the two men in bed, Kit’s prepared to do whatever it takes to save his career. But how far is too far to push the boundaries of love and how long can one man hide from himself?

Read the first chapter and purchase the book on Loose Id.

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

ARC Review: Acting Out by Tibby Armstrong

Jeremy Ash, an aspiring actor, is single, gorgeous…and openly, quietly gay. When he lands a starring role opposite America’s favorite former child star, 21-year old Kit Harris, he’s ecstatic and more than a little attracted to the enigmatic star.

Kit Harris’s career has been flagging and his agent promises this new film, an edgy coming out story with a famed director, is just the thing to get it back on track. The problem is that the film is relatively intimate in nature, and Kit’s definitely not gay. He’s not even slightly bent.

When the two men collide in a crushing first kiss that leaves both gasping for air, Kit’s left reeling and Jeremy’s left wanting. And that was just the audition. When filming starts and the two men are brought into close proximity every day, passions ignite and souls collide–both on screen and off. The two men find that the only way to assuage their mutual lust is to give in to it. Kit’s sure this strange new attraction will run its course; Jeremy’s hoping it never has to end.

But when a manipulative model obtains salacious film footage of the two men in bed, Kit’s prepared to do whatever it takes to save his career. But how far is too far to push the boundaries of love and how long can one man hide from himself?

NOTE: While “Acting Out” further explores some characters and themes from “No Apologies”, it is not necessary to read the books in any particular order to enjoy them fully.

Expected publication: May 8th 2012 by Loose Id

 

I was first introduced to Tibby Armstrong‘s writing when I read No Apologies for The Romance Reviews a while back. Ever since then, I’ve been utterly HOOKED on her writing and (literally) jumped at the chance to read Acting Out. Another glimpse at Greg and Aaron? Meeting a new couple who’d light my iPad on fire? SIGN ME UP.

Jeremy and Kit captured my attention from page one. They have intense chemistry, despite Kit’s initial reservations about being with another man. I will have to admit wanting to slap him several times throughout the book (you should seem my emails to Tibby – I might’ve made her snort a few times with my graphic language when I got mad at him). I know that it was obvious to ME that Kit had very real feelings for Jeremy, but he was so deeply in the closet that even HE didn’t know what was real and what wasn’t. And even though he treated Jeremy with the utmost care at certain times, there were others when he let his mouth get away with him and I REALLY wanted to slap his face. Or kiss it. Maybe both.

Jeremy plays Greg’s character in the movie, and watching some of the things that Greg went through as a young man through Jeremy and Kit’s eyes nearly tore me in two. One particular scene had me reaching for the tissue… an entire box of it. And wanting to punch Greg in his beautiful face (I can say that, since I’m Greg and Aaron’s girlfriend – you can even ask them on Twitter – @AaronEBlake & @GregoryFalkner). You’ll have to read the book to understand why I’d want to punch my fictional boyfriend in the face. Luckily, we’re back on speaking terms.

I loved revisiting Greg and Aaron, and it killed me to see them going through tough times again (even knowing it turned out okay in the end – read No Apologies if you’re confused). I wanted to yell out “Don’t be mad Aaron! He loves you! I swear!” but then PK would’ve woken up and been all grumbly. And of course, the entire freaking book, I was TERRIFIED on the freaking EDGE OF MY SEAT, thinking that one of my favorite characters was really badly hurt. That stupid (ok, ridiculously hot, but so dangerous) motorcycle!!

I love that Tibby writes in such a way that I care about what happens to the characters. I almost feel like a dork for caring so much. But I’m a self-professed book nerd so I guess that’s okay, right? ;)

Rating: 5/5 meows

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Review: Sheet Music by Tibby Armstrong

Music journalist Kyra Martin faces the toughest assignment of her career–to write a cover story about enigmatic heartthrob David Tallis. Deadline looming, Kyra plans to go undercover. When she ends up under the covers with the sexy superstar instead, can both her career and their budding relationship survive?

With a closet full of skeletons to hide, and a paparazzi-fueled divorce behind him, David Tallis despises the press. When Kyra Martin bribes her way into his life, her sexy assets have him composing a duplicitous seduction. Ensnared in a media maelstrom of his own making, can David face the music? Or will he lose Kyra, along with another piece of himself?

I first discovered Tibby when I read No Apologies (if you haven’t read that one yet, you really should – like, NOW), so when she told me she had another book out, I immediately jumped on the chance to read it. Unfortunately, because I had so much on my plate with school and family, I wasn’t able to pick it up right away. And boy, am I ever kicking myself in the butt for that.

I had some stuff come up that landed me in a spot where all I was able to do was read, so I grabbed for my iPad and pulled up Sheet Music. I was immediately engrossed in David and Kyra’s world. I’m pretty sure I had Tibby gnawing off the ends of her fingers because I tend to live tweet as I read, but I was laughing, screaming, crying, and reaching for my ice water trying to cool off (heh) along with the characters.

The one issue I did have with the book was that it felt like David fell for Kyra a little too quickly – but he didn’t tell her he loved her. I think he was more intrigued by her, and that’s what kept him coming back, despite all the perceived betrayals.

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned anything about my musical background before either here or on Twitter, but basically everyone on my father’s side of my family is in the music business. And to see David playing music for a living (and Tibby getting so many of the details right – too many authors either glaze over it or write what we think it should be like and pray we don’t notice and nothing irritates me more — THANK YOU TIBBY! I love that you do your research!!) was like coming home for me. I imagined being in the booth with my dad or with my husband (yes, PK is a musician too… guess I couldn’t stay away, lol). Even if I didn’t love David because of everything else (he’s sexy, smooth, caring… once you break past the wall of ice he’s built around his heart), I’d be a puddle at his feet because he’s a sexy-as-sin musician. Groupie? Me? Never. ;)

I loved the fact that Kyra had a backbone. If there’s one thing I hate, it’s a weak-willed heroine, and she’s not one of them. There were times I wanted to slap them both simply because I wanted them to talk to each other because I wanted them to be together, but it’s because I cared about the characters and I just wanted them to be happy – which is the mark of a great author, IMO.

Another great read by a fantastic author. I’ve had the opportunity to beta read the sequel, Undercover Lover (which was recently released) and stars David’s little sister Jenny and his bodyguard Gunter. Also a must-read. Totally. (UL review is forthcoming)

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

New release: Undercover Lover by Tibby Armstrong

I was lucky enough to get a copy of Undercover Lover before it was released, and my review is forthcoming (first I have to review Sheet Music, the first book in the series — I’ve been busy with school!) but I wanted to let you know that Undercover Lover was released on March 28th and you should go get it (and Sheet Music!) nowwww!

Good girl Jenny Ainsley never hoped for more than her nine-to-five existence. Then her famous brother hires a bodyguard to protect her—a sinfully sexy man who gets drawn into a plot to take down an international drug syndicate. At first an unwilling participant, Jenny soon realizes she has the opportunity to break away from her timid past and do something important. And getting her hot bodyguard into bed will be a delicious bonus. He resists her at every turn, however, and she discovers that no amount of training—or seduction—can crack the code to this man’s heart.Ex-MI-5 agent Günter Faust is no stranger to watching the beautiful Jenny Ainsley. For years he’s seen to her safety, hiding in the shadows and pining for the woman he can never have. Bedding a client is not an option. But fate has put her by his side, working up close and personal. And with Jenny’s relentless determination to seduce him, it’s only a matter of time before she blows his cover—and his heart—wide open.

  • Publisher: Ellora’s Cave (March 28, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007Q0TAH6
  • Amazon
  • Ellora’s Cave

Undercover Lover follows up on secondary characters and situations from Tibby’s (amazing) 2010 Ellora’s Cave Moderne release, Sheet Music. Yes, David Tallis makes an appearance…or two. Did you really think he’d have it any other way?

Read an excerpt of Undercover Lover here.

Music
Discover the tunes that helped inspire Tibby as she wrote Undercover Lover here. Jenny’s theme song is Sara Bareilles’ King of Anything, and Gunter’s is 21 Guns by Green Day.

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Saturday Snippet: Sheet Music by Tibby Armstrong

I just finished reading Sheet Music last night (stayed up until well after midnight to do so) and I have to say that I loved this book. So much so, that I had to post some of it for Saturday Snippets. I’m looking forward to the release of Undercover Lover (the sequel to Sheet Music), which tells the story of David’s bodyguard, Gunter.

An Excerpt From: SHEET MUSIC

Copyright © TIBBY ARMSTRONG, 2010

All Rights Reserved, Ellora’s Cave Publishing, Inc.

Chapter One

 

“Name?”

David Tallis’ velvet-over-steel voice made Kyra’s stomach do a little flip that had nothing to do with nerves. Her reply was throaty, laced with all the pent-up need she’d intended to hide.

“Kyra. With a y.”

She licked her lips and stared as his strong, long-fingered hand made a flourish across the liner notes and flipped the CD case shut. He held it out to her in a graceful motion, rough-cut onyx cufflinks twinkling in the ambient lights.

She flicked a glance at the CD then met his cobalt eyes and promptly forgot she was here for professional research purposes only.

The next words out of her mouth shocked them both.

“Mr. Tallis, I’m Kyra Martin.”

“Bloody hell,” he muttered under his breath, placing his hands, palms down, on the linen-covered table.

She straightened her shoulders and fought not to close her eyes at the blunder she’d kick herself for later. She’d planned to introduce herself tonight when she “accidentally” bumped into him at the bar, not at Danny Owens’ music store opening, but there was no going back now. In for a penny, in for a pound.

“I realize this is unusual, but I was in London and I haven’t been able to get your publicist to show you—”

“Out!”

His voice rang through the upscale store, and out of the corner of her eye she saw the paid event photographer lower his camera rather than taking the perfect paparazzi shot.

Kyra felt all eyes upon her as a hush fell over the gaggle of women who had been let past the ropes for the publicity event. She calculated she had about ten seconds before Tallis’ infamous private goon-squad threw her out the door, but persisted nonetheless. Award-winning music journalism didn’t happen without a little chutzpah, after all.

Leaning forward she played the sex card, letting her cleavage peek above the sweetheart neck of her black cashmere sweater, her pearls swinging forward in a rhythmic arc.

“I’m sure we can find something to talk about that would be mutually agreeable.”

He held up a hand to stay the bodyguard who’d appeared, seemingly out of nowhere, and his eyes made a disdainful dip to the offered view.

“I’m sure we could. I doubt you’d be writing about it in Rolling Stone, however. Hustler, perhaps?” His crisp accent made the jibe more pointed than it otherwise would have been.

Kyra smiled slowly. “Touché.”

Opening her purse, she took out a business card and slid it into the breast pocket of his suit jacket. With a breathless “Call me” that would bring most men to their knees, she turned and sashayed past the line of gaping women out into the early summer rain to hail a taxi.

“The Ritz,” she directed as she slid into the gleaming black car.

Stretching catlike, she smiled at her bit of brilliance. It might not have gone off exactly as she had planned, but it was a first step. Yes, there was always a way around a publicist.

As for David Tallis, he might not have given an interview in the better part of a decade, but she refused to be cowed by the likes of him. Rather, he was an irresistible puzzle. A man, who, no matter what strings the press pulled, seemed to have no past before age thirteen. No parents. No history. All they could uncover was a prep school education in a remote area of Scotland, and an improbably quick rise to international music stardom.

Even before he’d begun refusing to talk to the press, they’d all been prepped not to mention his childhood. Anyone who deviated from the script had received the famous Tallis glare and an abrupt end to the interview.

He had another think coming if he thought he could brush her off so easily. She could tolerate living naked on an iceberg—as long as she got her story. And she would get it. She might have blown the advantage of surprise, but she hadn’t failed yet in an assignment. It was something her editors counted on, and something on which she had staked her reputation and built her career thus far.

She would be the go-to name for the music industry glossies by the time she was finished, and no one would stand in her way. Her editor had assured her that if she got this story she could write her own ticket. If she didn’t… Well, failure was something she refused to contemplate.

Leaning her head back against the seat, she rested her eyes as the cabbie made his way to The Ritz where she—and David Tallis—would be spending the next week. Behind her closed lids she remembered his eyes. They had been even more stunning than on the cover of his latest CD. When they shot his picture for the story she’d have the set draped in fabric dyed to match their Mediterranean blue.

She pictured him naked from the waist up, in a casual pose that showed readers the sensual man behind the music. His covers were far too reserved for her taste. He needed more smoke, like his voice. Something that screamed sex.

Feeling a flush spread through her veins, Kyra wondered if the cabbie had turned up the heat. She shifted in her seat and blew out a breath. It was probably jet lag combined with the stress of her opening salvo with David that had affected her. It certainly couldn’t be his famous sex appeal. She was too jaded to be taken in by someone as pampered, pompous and self-interested as a musician—especially one with a pour-down-your-spine accent and hands that looked like they could caress the clothing off her body with one deft flick of his fingers.

Her purse rested between her thighs and she rocked forward to let the leather bite into her, imagining the heel of David Tallis’ palm in its place, picturing sitting on the edge of the autograph table in front of him at the signing. He’d have her thighs splayed wide, her skirt bunched so that her bottom rested against the cool linen.

He’d grind his hand harder into her folds, giving rough little slaps as he found a rhythm that reminded her of one of his Latin-inspired numbers. She’d arch her back and he’d hold her up with his other hand to grip her shoulder.

“Come for me, baby,” he’d growl, and she’d widen her thighs.

Her cell phone rang and her eyes flew open to meet the cabbie’s stare in the rearview mirror. They must have been sitting curbside for a full minute. Had the man been watching her? Did he know what she’d been doing? A twinkle in his brown eyes told her he did.

Music journalist Kyra Martin faces the toughest assignment of her career—to write a cover story about enigmatic heartthrob David Tallis. Deadline looming, Kyra plans to go undercover. When she ends up under the covers with the sexy superstar instead, can both her career and their budding relationship survive?

With a closet full of skeletons to hide, and a paparazzi-fueled divorce behind him, David Tallis despises the press. When Kyra Martin bribes her way into his life, her sexy assets have him composing a duplicitous seduction. Ensnared in a media maelstrom of his own making, can David face the music? Or will he lose Kyra, along with another piece of himself?

  • Publisher: Ellora’s Cave (August 4, 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0042JTADS

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Gimme Gimme (I want I want): Books I’m dying for

I was going through a few emails, then somehow managed to get on some of my favorite author’s websites looking at the books they have coming up (or at their backlists, as the case may be), and I’ve decided that I’m going to be greedy and grab a few books. Why not? I have some money on an Amazon GC. I can splurge a little bit, right? So I’m making a wishlist. A couple of these won’t come out for a while, but I’m putting them on here anyway because I WANT THEM!

Luke Emerson is the last person Sebastian Wakefield expects to see strolling into his tattoo shop. But Luke’s not back after four years to take up where they left off. Not even to apologize for the cheating that broke them up.

Luke wants a custom tattoo, a memorial for someone known only as “A.J.”. Much as Seb would love to tell Luke to take this ink and shove it, he’s a professional. Plus, he’s reluctant to admit, he wouldn’t mind getting his hands on Luke again. Even if it’s just business.

Once Luke’s in the tattoo chair, though, Seb finds himself struggling with all the anger and resentment he thought he’d left behind—and those aren’t the only feelings reignited. Their relationship may have been turbulent, but it was also passionate. Four years clearly hasn’t been long enough for the embers of that fire to go cold.

A few subtle hints from Luke is all it takes to make Seb consider indulging in some of that physical passion. It shouldn’t be that tough to keep his emotions from getting tangled up in sweaty sheets.

After all, it’s not like he’s in love with Luke anymore. Right?

Product Warnings — Contains two exes who shouldn’t want each other like this, steamy ex-sex they shouldn’t be having, and a whole lot of ink.

Release date: May 31, 2011

Hard rock band Schadenfreude is finally on the verge of the success that’s eluded them for the last several years. With Aaron McClure as their new lead singer, nothing’s going to stop them…except maybe a steamy, secret relationship between Aaron and bassist Bastian Koehler. Aaron knows all too well what can happen when band members get involved with each other. After all, his last band was a casualty of his last relationship, and Schadenfreude forbids band members from dating for that very reason. But Bastian is too hot to resist, and besides, it’s just sex, so what’s the harm?

Bastian has just gotten out of a long relationship with his volatile ex-fiancée when Aaron catches his eye. The sexy singer is irresistible, and in spite of the potential for strife within the band if this comes out, Bastian can’t help himself.

Their passion in the bedroom is rivaled only by their ambition as musicians, though, and pretty soon, it’s going to tear them, and Schadenfreude apart, if they can’t get back to playing with the band.

Release date: March 22, 2011

Music journalist Kyra Martin faces the toughest assignment of her career–to write a cover story about enigmatic heartthrob David Tallis. Deadline looming, Kyra plans to go undercover. When she ends up under the covers with the sexy superstar instead, can both her career and their budding relationship survive?

With a closet full of skeletons to hide, and a paparazzi-fueled divorce behind him, David Tallis despises the press. When Kyra Martin bribes her way into his life, her sexy assets have him composing a duplicitous seduction. Ensnared in a media maelstrom of his own making, can David face the music? Or will he lose Kyra, along with another piece of himself?

Release date: August 4, 2010

From money pit to windfall…or is it a pitfall?
After ten years together, Ethan Mallory and Rhett Solomon are calling it quits. They’re more than ready to dump their heavy emotional baggage. The only thing they can’t seem to unload is the house. They’re stuck living as roommates with a hefty mortgage hanging over their heads…at least until they can bring in some extra money to pay it down. Solution: rent out a room.

Enter Kieran Frost. Suddenly, the only thing Ethan and Rhett both want more than getting away from each other is getting close to their single, young, hot roommate. Complicating things is the fact that Kieran doesn’t mind the attention from both, and he certainly doesn’t mind sharing.

Their combined chemistry ignites something else that Ethan and Rhett had thought was long dead—the mutual attraction that drew them together in the first place. Except bitter jealousy over Kieran could only push them even farther apart…

Warning: Includes multiple threesomes, angry sex, makeup sex, and a little peeking.

Release date: July 6, 2010

Don’t talk to strangers, young man—especially the dead ones.

It’s the Roaring Twenties. Skirts are short, crime is rampant and booze is in short supply. Prohibition has hit Little Egypt, where newspaperman David Flynn has come to do a follow-up story on the Herren Massacre. The massacre isn’t the only news in town though. Spiritualist medium Julian Devereux claims to speak to the dead—and he charges a pretty penny for it.

Flynn knows a phoney when he sees one, and he’s convinced Devereux is as fake as a cigar store Indian. But the reluctant attraction he feels for the deceptively soft, not-his-type Julian is as real as it gets.

Suddenly Julian begins to have authentic, bloodstained visions of a serial killer, and the cynical Mr. Flynn finds himself willing to defend Julian with not only his life, but his body. 

Ever since the death of his shellan, Tohrment has been unrecognizable from the vampire leader he once was. Physically emaciated and heartbroken beyond despair, he has been brought back to the Brotherhood by a self-serving fallen angel. Now, fighting once again with ruthless vengeance, he is unprepared to face a new kind of tragedy.

When Tohr begins to see his beloved in his dreams—trapped in a cold, isolated netherworld far from the peace and tranquility of the Fade—he turns to the angel in hopes of saving the one he has lost. But because Lassiter tells him he must learn to love another to free his former mate, Tohr knows they are all doomed….

Except then a female with a shadowed history begins to get through to him. Against the backdrop of the raging war with the lessers, and with a new clan of vampires vying for the Blind King’s throne, Tohr struggles between the buried past and a very hot, passion-filled future…but can his heart let go and set all of them free?

Release date: March 27, 2012 (I, of course, will be waiting for the audio – you know me)

Note from MK: Like I wasn’t gonna put this one on here? Come on. You know me better than that.

Turned into a vampire against her will, twenty-eight-year-old Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago’s vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye—and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined.
And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing—among humans or inhumans.
Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artifact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he’ll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.

Release date: August 7, 2012

What books are you looking forward to?

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Interview with Tibby Armstrong & Greg Falkner + giveaway of No Apologies

I’m author, Tibby Armstrong. Today I have with me screenwriter Greg Falkner from my novel, No Apologies.

No Apologies is my interpretation of Greg’s experiences as a gay high school student in a New England military school. When I wrote the novel he asked me to change places and names to protect the innocent. Many readers have had questions about Greg’s real life experiences versus the fictionalized experiences in the novel. So, I thought Greg would be the best person to talk with about the discrepancies.

Before we begin, here’s the blurb to the novel:

 

Cheerful and friendly, Aaron Blake has never met a puzzle that intrigues him more than the brooding Greg Falkner. He wants to get to know his roommate, but it seems the only way past his shell is through it. When a reluctant friendship turns into a budding romance, can the two keep their feelings secret from their classmates? Or will their newfound love destroy them both?

 So goes the story screenwriter Greg Falkner spins for audiences and his longtime partner, Aaron Blake, in No Apologies. Loosely based on their lives together, the film rocks Hollywood with its blatant portrayal of two teenagers falling in love and coming of age in a world that struggles to accept them, while they in turn struggle to accept themselves.

 At the end of the evening, will Greg’s risky venture break a relationship that’s already foundering? Or will the real life Greg and Aaron also find their happily ever after with No Apologies?

 

WARNING: THIS INTERVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Tibby: Hi Greg. Thanks for agreeing to talk with me today. I understand you don’t normally give interviews. Why is that?

Greg: Thank you for having me, Tibby. This is, indeed, an exception for me. I don’t normally give interviews because so often media takes things out of context and spins the facts to suit their purpose or message. So little of what is actually said ends up making it into the printed piece.

Tibby: Right. Which is why we agreed to a Q&A format here. So, I think the number one question readers have had about the novel concerns why the film No Apologies differs so greatly from your real life with Aaron. Does it really? And can you tell us more about that?

Greg: I think, primarily, real life is boring. I mention this in the novel. You need to create dramatic tension by highlighting those bits and pieces that were indeed dramatic and minimizing those that weren’t. In order to do this, you need settings and people and pacing that don’t normally occur all at once in real life. If it did, we’d all be running around having heart attacks from the stress. What we did in No Apologies was to let the movie highlight those issues that felt larger than life in my and Aaron’s real experiences. Then, we let the wrap-around story from our adult lives show the reader how those stresses had affected our real life relationship over time.

Tibby: So, would you say that your real life experiences were as stressful as the ones portrayed in the movie? Were they just as dramatic for you and Aaron?

Greg: In some ways more so. It took me a decade longer than my character in the movie portion of the book to get over the gay bashing we experienced. Until I was at risk of losing something even more important to me—Aaron—I just couldn’t say “I love you” and risk exposing us to the same violence and contempt we experienced as young adults.

Tibby: What is your real life relationship with Aaron like?

Greg: I’m not a saint. Neither is Aaron. He’s not nearly as patient with me on a daily basis as the Aaron in the movie. I wanted to highlight, however, in the movie portion of the book, how loyal Aaron is. He might get frustrated with me, but he’s taken a lot of shit over the years. That tends to wear a person down. In some ways our relationship changed him for the better and for worse. When I first met Aaron, he was arrogant and self serving. He and his cronies in high school deliberately had several people kicked out simply because they didn’t fit in. I was the first person Aaron ever stood up for that I know of. I don’t know why or what he saw in me that made him decide he couldn’t do those things anymore, but I’m glad I (ironically) brought out the best in him. On the other hand, I helped Aaron become extraordinarily unpopular. Unsure of himself. He didn’t fit in anymore once he started hanging out with me. It made him less happy-go-lucky and more bitter, I think.

Tibby: Now that you’re both out, do you think that has helped smooth the rough edges for you both?

Greg: I think we’re still working on it. You can’t compress an entire relationship down into a novel and have it highlight the entirety of a transition people go through over a ten year time frame. Relationships are always a work in progress. Aaron is settling into a more happy-go-lucky phase again. I’m more trusting than I used to be of both myself and the world. So, that helps create less tension in the relationship. We’ve hit our stride in a sense, but we still have a lot to learn about ourselves.

Tibby: I know you said Aaron’s character in the movie portion of the book was dramatized as saintly in order to help create larger-than-life tension. Are you nearly as surly in real life as you were in the novel?

Greg: Interesting question. I feel like I am. Sometimes, however, we’re our own harshest critics. I know some people said they feel like Aaron and I switch places in the non-movie portion of the book. That puzzled me until I realized that in some ways we did switch places because I was finally fighting for the relationship that Aaron had been fighting for all along. That’s bound to make me look more sympathetic and him more…bitter. For all his wonderful qualities, however, Aaron is human. He can be angered and worn down. If he were as much of a saint in real life as he is in the movie portion of the book, I don’t think I’d be able to stomach him. And I certainly don’t think he’d need to stay with someone as dark as I was portrayed.

Tibby: So why do you think that puzzled readers so much? The difference in your  characters in the non-movie portion of the book?

Greg: Well, it wasn’t your most brilliant decision as an author to try to compress two stories down into 55,000 words. If you’d given people another 20,000 words or so I think they’d have come around—seen what you were trying to do. But, hey, overall I think it works. At least it seems to have worked for the readers who approach the novel as something to mull over rather than read for pure entertainment. There’s nothing wrong with the latter, but if it’s what you’re looking for and you end up with a book that makes you dig for the message? Sure, some people are going to be less than happy with you.

Tibby: Gee, thanks, Greg.

Greg: No problem, Tibby.

Tibby: So, wrapping this up, can you let us know what you’re working on now?

Greg: Well, I just finished a minor role in your upcoming novel Acting Out, out May 8th from Loose Id. I play myself in a book about the two actors who portrayed me and Aaron in the film, No Apologies. Kit Harris and Jeremy Ash. These two fell in love—well, lust and then love—on the set of the movie. Their on screen chemistry really made filming so much easier and more rewarding than I thought it would be.

Tibby: Thanks for stopping by to chat with me, Greg. I’ll see you again when we get to work on the third novel in the series, Out Takes.

Greg: My pleasure, Tibby. I’m looking forward to working with you again.



a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

 

Mama Kitty

MamaKitty is a mother to a beautiful little girl, wife to her own real life hero, a registered radiographic technologist, student, book reviewer, and author of contemporary romance (as Paige Prince). She hates to be bored, loves a good book, and can usually be found on Twitter or Facebook.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest - YouTube

Our Sponsors

Social Networking